german  english  italy  poland  spain  hungary  lettland  sweden  Färöer  japan

Franz Fühmannís Library

Franz Fühmann (1922-1984) was one of the most important German writers of the post-war period, famous far beyond the borders of the GDR even during his lifetime. He was also a matchless book lover and book collector. His working library of approximately 17,000 volumes includes literature from a wide range of fields. Its key areas of focus are closely bound up with his own literary work: German-language literature of the 18th-20th centuries, 19th and 20th-century English and French literature, fairytale collections, mythology, art, philosophy, religion, history, politics, sociology, psychology and psychoanalysis and even technical literature on mining, as well as numerous reference works and encyclopedias.

They include a large number of valuable first editions (especially of Expressionist literature) and several extremely rare limited-edition private printings, as well as books including original graphic works.

The more than five meters of presentation copies reflect the high esteem which Franz Fühmann enjoyed as a writer and a human being – the list of prominent names is long, including two Nobel Prize laureates.

A unique feature of great interest for literary scholars, researchers and Fühmann experts is the abundance of underlinings (often in color), marginalia and notes in the books of his library, and the index boxes (6 index boxes stuffed to bursting with filled-in index cards) that are intimately connected to them and also form a part of the library. Another typical aspect is that Fühmann often marked the title page of his books with his name.

Alongside books and magazines one also finds thematic collections of newspaper and magazine clippings or booklets and brochures, along with photos, maps, art prints and the like – as well as many handwritten and typewritten manuscripts, early drafts of or notes for his own works, as well as manuscripts by other writers and postcards and letters which he received (from colleagues such as Uwe Greßmann, Rainer and Sarah Kirsch, Wolfgang Hilbig, Christa Wolf, etc.) Thus Franz Fühmann’s library has the quality of a literary estate as well as a working library.

During his lifetime, Franz Fühmann’s library was divided among three locations: the apartment on Strausberger Platz, the shed where he worked in Märkisch Buchholz and a storefront apartment in Berlin. In early 2003, this unique book collection was brought together for the first time in the Historical Collections of the Zentral- und Landesbibliothek Berlin and made accessible to researchers, clearly organized by subject.

Volker Scharnefsky

Link: Zentral- und Landesbibliothek Berlin - Historical Collections

german  english  italy  poland  spain  hungary  lettland  sweden  Färöer  japan

Die Bibliothek Franz Fühmanns

Franz Fühmann (1922-1984), einer der wichtigsten deutschsprachigen Schriftsteller der zweiten Hälfte des zwanzigsten Jahrhunderts und schon zu seinen Lebzeiten weit über die Grenzen der DDR hinaus bekannt, war ein unvergleichlicher Bücherliebhaber und Büchersammler. Seine ca. 17.000 Bände umfassende Arbeitsbibliothek beinhaltet Literatur aus den verschiedensten  Bereichen. Eng verknüpft mit seinem literarischen Schaffen sind  ihre wichtigsten Schwerpunkte die deutschsprachige Literatur 18. bis 20. Jahrhundert, englische und französische Literatur des 19. und 20. Jahrhunderts, Märchensammlungen, Mythologie, Kunst, Philosophie, Religion, Geschichte, Politik, Soziologie, Psychologie und Psychoanalyse, aber auch Fachliteratur zum Bergbau und viele Nachschlagewerke und Lexika.

Eine große Anzahl wertvoller Erstausgaben (besonders der expressionistischen Literatur) und einige äußerst seltene Privatdrucke mit geringer Auflagenhöhe, sowie Bücher mit originalgraphischen Arbeiten  befinden sich darunter.

Als ein Maß der hohen Wertschätzung des Dichters und Menschen Franz Fühmann können die über 5 lfd. Meter Widmungsexemplare angesehen werden  –  neben zwei Literatur-Nobelpreisträgern ist die Liste prominenter Namen lang.

Einzigartig und damit für jeden Literaturwissenschaftler, Forschenden und Fühmann-Kenner  von höchstem Interesse sind besonders die zahllosen (oft farbigen) Anstreichungen, Marginalien und Notizzettel in den Büchern seiner Bibliothek und die damit in unmittelbarem Zusammenhang stehenden Zettelkästen (6 mit vollgeschriebenen Karteikärtchen prall gefüllte Karteikästen), die ebenfalls zur Bibliothek gehören. Typisch auch oftmals die Kennzeichnung der Bücher auf der Titelseite mit seinem Namenszug.

Neben Büchern und Zeitschriften lassen sich aber auch themenbezogene Konvolute von Zeitungs- und Zeitschriftenausschnitten oder Heften und Broschüren, sowie Fotos, Landkarten, Kunstdrucke und ähnliches zwischen seinen Büchern finden; aber nicht nur das, auch sehr viele handschriftliche und maschinegeschriebene Manuskripte, Vorstufen oder Notizen zu seinen Werken von ihm, sowohl Manuskripte anderer als auch Postkarten und Briefe an ihn (Uwe Greßmann, Rainer und Sarah Kirsch, Wolfgang Hilbig, Christa Wolf u.v.a.m.). Die Bibliothek Franz Fühmanns trägt somit nicht nur den Charakter einer Arbeits-, sondern auch einer Nachlaßbibliothek.
 
Franz Fühmanns Bibliothek war zu seinen Lebzeiten auf drei Standorte verteilt: die Wohnung am Strausberger Platz, die Hütte seines Arbeitsdomizils in Märkisch Buchholz und eine Berliner Ladenwohnung. Nun erstmalig steht diese einzigartige Büchersammlung seit Anfang des Jahres 2003 in den Historischen Sammlungen der Zentral- und Landesbibliothek Berlin  zusammen und der Forschung zur Verfügung, übersichtlich und nach Fachgebieten geordnet.

Volker Scharnefsky

Link: Zentral- und Landesbibliothek Berlin - Historische Sammlungen